That’s why I’m here

A warm Sunday summer morning on the end of the pier and so far it’s just me and one other guy tossing bait in the water.  Nothing much to talk about other than asking each other about nibbles or bites or whatever else is related to pulling in the fish and someone who earlier said, “you should have been here yesterday”.  We were and it was the same yesterday.

On the weekends, in addition to people who come out to fish, we get the joggers who come running out to the end of the pier, give you a nod and then turn and run away.  We get the talking fishermen who come out without a fishing rod and tell you all about how their grandfather took them fishing and they would hit their limit in twenty minutes.  We get the people who come out to read and sometimes we get the laptoppers who must have a report due tomorrow and think they can be more productive sitting over the water.

“Hi, guys” she said, “any luck yet?”

“Not much today.”

“It sure is pretty out here.  Just thought I would sit in the sun and do a little work.”

After a few minutes of looking around she pulled her laptop out of the carry bag and started to work but then after a few more minutes she said, “I keep trying to connect but it’s not letting me.”

“I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong.”

“This is so frustrating.”

I could tell she was trying to get my attention but I didn’t know any more than she did.

“This should work, why can’t I connect?”

“I don’t know much about it”, I finally said.

“How about you?” she said to the other fisherman.  “Do you know what the problem might be?”

“Yes”, he said.

“Do you think you could get a connection?”

“Yes”

“Can you help me?”

“No, that’s why I’m here”.

Leave a Reply

