Baseball cards

When I was a kid I never really collected baseball cards but I do remember looking at my friends’ cards.   The cards all smelled like gum, had a fine dusting of the gum sugar and showed posed pictures of ballplayers who all looked like they must have been at least 50 if not 60 years old.

A few weeks ago I was looking at some baseball cards my son-in-law has collected and recognized the cards as being the same as those I had had looked at many years ago.  The smell of gum was gone and somehow the players pictured on the cards had become younger.  How did they change the pictures?

Leave a Reply

