How did this happen?

One afternoon, as I was slowly walking my dad to our backdoor he stopped, looked at me and said, “How did this happen?”  At first I thought he might have seen a crack in the sidewalk or something on the lawn or maybe he saw some dying flowers which had been dug up by the squirrels.  When I asked him what he meant he gave me a strange look as if to say, “Can’t you see?”  “How did this happen?  How did I get to be this old?”  Isn’t it obvious, I thought?  All you have to do is take the year of your birth and subtract it from the current year and that gives you your age which then confirms that you are indeed old.  “How did this happen?”  Why would anyone have difficulty understanding such a simple concept?

When my father died a few years later I thought about that afternoon but then his question just kind of vanished from my thoughts.  Last week, as I sat writing one of my future award-winning blogs, I looked down at my hands and fingers clicking away on the keyboard and wondered, “Why am I using Dad’s hands?  How did my young man’s hands turn into his hands? How did this happen?”

Leave a Reply

