Friday night’s question

Last Friday night we went to a party in the park concert which featured a Jimmy Buffett tribute band.  The weather was beautiful, the concert was free and it just felt like summer so there really wasn’t anything to do but just enjoy the evening.  Half way through the concert the leader of the band (Jimmy Buffettette, I guess) said something that made me start to think.

I never thought it was really possible but I’m starting to believe that there isn’t a question that cannot be answered.  Oh, I’m not talking about nonsensical questions like the number of angels who can dance on the head of a pin questions but real questions that man has asked for centuries.  Now, because of the ease of using computers anyone can find the answers to most questions or a good part of those answers like which car should I purchase if I want the best gas mileage or how can the US take advantage of shale gas deposits in order to decrease our dependence on foreign oil or how can I lose 25 pounds by this coming Saturday night?  I now have access to the answers to questions that Stephen Hawking, Carl Sagan, Thomas Edison, Dr. Phil and Ellen DeGeneres would have struggled with not so long ago. But as I sat there watching couples in their Margaritaville attire dance around I did come up with one question that I do not believe can be answered.

As “Jimmy” told the crowd, “we’ll be right back so stick around” he also said to be sure to go to the tent in the area next to the stage to check out the band’s CDs.  Now, here’s the question that cannot be answered:  Why would anyone want to buy the CD of a tribute band?

Leave a Reply

