Out of the mouths of babes

Why do the children all do what they do?

My Joey asks questions until I turn blue.

How come two hands and not three or four?

Why not rugs on the ceiling instead of the floor?

How come oranges are orange and not pink or brown?

Why’s a smile called a smile and not called a frown?

Why’s Amy my sister instead of my brother?

Where do babies come from….Whoa, go ask your mother

Most of his questions are so young and so happy

But then later on when he wakes from his nap he

Asks me a question my answer will fail

Why ain’t the Reverend Al Sharpton in jail?

Leave a Reply

