Here’s what you do

Not on the end of the charger cord and not on the kitchen counter.  Not in the bathroom and not on my dresser.  Maybe it’s in the pocket of my jeans, the jeans I threw in the wash last night.  That couldn’t happen, there’s no way that could have happened, no way, and as I look in the washer I’m relieved to see that it’s empty and that my cell phone isn’t taking a swim but then I hear a knocking in the dryer and realize that my precious iPhone might be taking a tumble because it’s already been through all of the washer cycles. And there are my almost dry jeans and there is the lump in the pocket the size of my black 5s that cost me a bundle and there’s the phone that didn’t need the insurance policy because I don’t multitask phone calls and bathroom visits.

I’ll just Google “wet iPhone” to see if there are any tips on how to recover a cell phone which has been dropped in water (I guess I must not be the only genius out there who has sent his phone through the Kenmore). The secret seems to be rice. “Fill a bowl with rice and bury the phone in the rice for five to six days. If you’re lucky the rice will pull the moisture out of the phone and you’ll be back in business.” Sounds like it’s worth a try.

No phone for five to six days.  No calls, no texts, no emails, no pictures for five to six days while it’s in the bowl of rice and then out of the bowl after six days and no calls, no texts, no emails, no pictures so back to Google which tells me my best option is ½ cup of chopped onion, salt and pepper, 2 cups of chicken broth and a couple of bay leaves to create a delicious rice pilaf with just the slightest hint of a Downy flavor note.

There’s always a silver lining.  Thank you, Google.

Bon Appétit

 

Leave a Reply

